Author Topic: Basic Popping Cork Rig - Please Help!  (Read 12670 times)

Offline heeman

• On Fish
Basic Popping Cork Rig - Please Help!
« on: Aug 10, 09 - 07:57:15 AM »
Can someone show me how to rig a Basic Popping Cork?

There are some out there with Heavy Mono Leaders and some with Wire.

Do I attach the jig head or bait on a hook directly to the Snap Swivel, or do I attach additional line and weight?

Please help a rookie here!

Offline darkom

• Bowed Up
Re: Basic Popping Cork Rig - Please Help!
« Reply #1 on: Aug 10, 09 - 08:40:03 AM »
I am not a pro...I can help but what are you using a popping cork for? How you rig depends on what you are trying to use it for.

Offline heeman

• On Fish
« Reply #2 on: Aug 10, 09 - 09:54:20 AM »
That's a great question???

If I was to rig it for Trout or Reds does it differ significantly??

Clear water vs. Mirky water?

Deep vs. Shallow?

Not sure, I am new to this and this is why I am asking this question.

Thanks for your help.

Offline RED RAIDER

• Global Moderator
  • Bowed Up
  • WRECK 'EM TECH
« Reply #3 on: Aug 10, 09 - 10:03:53 AM »
http://www.midcoastproducts.com/fishingcorks.htm

There are many ways to rig a cork but here is what I do. However I only fish with artifical lures so if you mess with bait then you may rig different.

Offline bigrggiii

• Bowed Up
  • Rey and I
« Reply #4 on: Aug 10, 09 - 10:05:28 AM »
I just buy the pre-rigged-cork (clackers, beads and swivels) without any leader attached, and I tie 20# mono as a leader from the cork to the hook or jig head.

For live shrimp I use a treble hook, but my preference the past couple of years is to use a 3" gulp shrimp on a 1/8 oz jig head.

I use about a 20" drop from the cork.

Offline bigrggiii

• Bowed Up
  • Rey and I
« Reply #5 on: Aug 10, 09 - 10:07:06 AM »
http://www.midcoastproducts.com/fishingcorks.htm